When life gives you lemons, make lemon water!

Warm lemon water in the mornings is a great way to start the day – and lemon water has numerous health benefits too. For my first habit, I am going to commit to drinking warm lemon water every morning for a month. I have some family members who swear by this habit and while I have tried it now and again I haven’t been able to make this habit stick yet! Every time I have tried this I haven’t noticed any major changes in the way I feel but that is probably because I haven’t committed to this habit over a long period of time.


Here are some of the health benefits of drinking lemon water in the morning:

  1. Lemons are really high in vitamin C, which help to boost the immune system. If our immune system is working well it makes it easier for our bodies to fight off illnesses such as colds and flus. In Australia it is nearly winter so this habit is perfect for this time of year as I seem to get sick mostly during the winter time.
  1. Lemons balance the pH levels in your body. Even though lemons are acidic, when they enter the body they become alkalising. Too much acid in the body can be inflammatory so lemons are great if you suffer from inflammation as they make the body more alkaline therefore reducing inflammation levels.
  1. Lemon water flushes out toxins. Lemon water supports our digestive systems and can help to eliminate waste from our bodies.
  1. Not only does lemon water aid our digestive system, it also stops bad bacteria from spreading and multiplying in our bodies, which can help protect us against infections and diseases!
  1. Lemon water is also great for our eyes. It helps to look after our eye health and to protect our eyes from diseases!

These are just my top five favourite things that lemon water can do for our bodies!

If anyone watches Adventure Time you’d notice this beautiful face belongs to Lemon Grab, one of the shows more insane characters…

How do I make lemon water?

Some people make their lemon water differently – some use the zest of the lemon, others pour lemon juice into warm water and other people simply put a slice of lemon in their cup. However the things you need to keep the same in all three methods is to make sure the lemons you use are fresh (not bottled! And if possible organic) and the water you use is high quality (filtered/purified) and the water is warm! Cold water is harder for the body to digest (it takes more energy to digest) and if you use boiling water it kills the good stuff *insert sad emoticon here*.

This mornings lemon water featuring Royal Albert mug and my sleepy dog Jakey

This mornings lemon water featuring a Royal Albert mug and my sleepy dog Jakey

I am going to try all three ways and review each one. I will let you know how I am going with this habit in approximately one month!

I’d love to know if anyone else drinks warm lemon water and if there are any differences you have noticed with your body so please comment below and let me know!

Jordie xo

Leave a comment